coimbra group Universities scholarship for young Sub-Saharan African Researchers 2021

Coimbra Group Scholarship Key details:
  • Host country: Belgium
  • Open to: Africans (Sub-Saharan)
  • Target: Researchers
  • Deadline: 16th April, 2021

The Coimbra Group is currently inviting applications for it’s 2021 scholraship award program from young Sub-Saharan African nationals who are keen about research.

Since 2008, the Coimbra Group universities has been providing the opportunity for young researchers from universities in Sub-Saharan Africa to spend a short period (generally 1 to 3 months) at a Coimbra Group University to carry out part of their research there.

The main aim of the Coimbra Group scholarship program is to enable scholars undertake research in which they have started in their home institution and to also help them establish academic and research contacts. The scholarships are financially supported by the Coimbra Group member universities participating in this program, while the Coimbra Group Office is in charge of the administrative management of the applications.

Eligibility Criteria for Coimbra Group Scholarship

In order to eligible, applicants should be:

  • Born on or after January 1, 1976;
  • Nationals of and current residents in a country in Sub-Saharan Africa;
  • Current staff members of a university or an equivalent higher education institution in Sub-Saharan Africa;
  • Preferably of doctoral/postdoctoral or equivalent status.

NOTE: the scholarship is open to all African countries except Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia (applicants from these countries are eligible under the Scholarship Program for Young Researchers from the European Neighbourhood).

Universities Participating in the Coimbra Group Scholarship

the following Coimbra Group universities are participating in the 2021 edition of the scheme:

  • University of Barcelona (Spain)
  • University of Coimbra (Portugal)
  • University of Cologne (Germany)
  • Eötvös Loránd University (Hungary)
  • University of Granada (Spain)
  • University of Graz (Austria)
  • University of Groningen (The Netherlands)
  • Jagiellonian University Krakow (Poland)
  • KU Leuven (Belgium)
  • University of Montpellier 3 Paul-Valéry (France)
  • University of Padova (Italy)
  • University of Pavia (Italy)
  • University of Poitiers (France)
  • University of Salamanca (Spain)
  • University of Siena (Italy)

other scholarship Opportunities:

Coimbra Group Scholarship Application Procedure

Interested candidates can click the button below to apply:

For more information visit the official website of Coimbra Group Scholarship

NOTE: Applicants must fill in the on-line application form before 16 April 2021 midnight (Brussels time).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like