Apply now: UN Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship (RAF) 2021

Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship
Key details

Applications for the 2021 United Nations (UN) Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship are currently ongoing.

About the Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship
Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship

The UN General Assembly Resolution 35/201 established the Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship in December 1980. The DPI Training Program for Broadcasters and Journalists from Developing Countries was renamed in 2003 to memorialize Reham Al-Farra, a 29-year-old Jordanian public information officer who was killed in the attack of the UN offices in Baghdad on August 19, 2003.

The Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship is a once-in-a-lifetime chance for young, professional journalists from emerging and transitional economies to cover the UN.

Also read: Microsoft Research PhD Fellowship for Europe, Middle East and Africa students 2021

Fellows have the opportunity to attend special briefings, interview senior officials, and exchange ideas with colleagues from around the world during the 3-week program. Fellows have already met with UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, Deputy Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, President of the General Assembly, and permanent representatives to the UN. Visits to news organizations such as the New York Times, Democracy Now!, and BuzzFeed are also part of the program.

Every year in September, the Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship is hosted in New York to coincide with the General Assembly’s opening sessions. Note that the RAF Program for 2021 is totally virtual due to COVID-19 constraints. However, based on their performance and dedication, Fellows from this cohort may be seriously considered for an in-person RAF in the future.

Eligibility Criteria
  • Open to full-time working journalists between 22 and 35 years of age who are nationals and residents of eligible countries with developing economies or economies in transition.
  • Fellows must be both citizens of one of the eligible countries and working full-time for a news outlet based there.
  • Applications from freelance journalists will be considered. As with all applicants, freelance journalists must provide strong work samples relevant to the United Nations’ priorities. Where applicable, they are also encouraged to attach documentation of their press accreditation (e.g., membership in a press syndicate, union, or similar association).
Eligible Countries

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine (State of), Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Also read: ISID/ESCMID Fellowship Program for Investigators from LMICs 2021/2022

Application Procedure

Applicants for the Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship need the following documents:

  • Three (3) published work samples related to international affairs. These can be submitted in their original language. Please include a brief summary in English for material that is not submitted in one of the six official UN languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. 
  • A letter of reference from your current employer or (for freelancers) an editor you have worked with.
  • Your curriculum vitae in English or French.
  • Proof of education (your highest degree or diploma).

For more information visit the official website of UN Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like