Call for Application: 2021 CEGA non-resident Fellowship Program [Funded]

CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship
Key details
  • Host: CEGA
  • Open to: West/East Africa nationals
  • Target: Graduates
  • Deadline: 21st June, 2021

Applications for the CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship Program 2021 are ongoing.

About the CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship Program
CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship

The CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship aims to provide early career African social scientists with the tools they need to conduct rigorous economic development program evaluations.

Selected researchers will have the opportunity to audit classes at Berkeley or other universities online, learn impact evaluation skills, and participate in a personalized mentorship program to help them develop their research ideas. Each fellow will be partnered with a faculty mentor from the University of California, Berkeley’s Center for Effective Global Action (CEGA).

CEGA Non-Resident Fellows will work for 12 weeks from home, putting in roughly 15-20 hours per week. Members of the East Africa Social Science Translation Collaborative (EASST) network will be considered CEGA Non-Resident Fellows. They’ll also be invited to join the Network of Impact Evaluation Researchers in Africa (NIERA), a group of African academics working to enhance decision-focused impact evaluation of development projects through capacity building, research, and policy outreach.

Also read: YALI RLC West Africa Emerging Leaders Program 2021

CEGA’s in-person Visiting Fellowships under CEGA’s EASST Collaborative and Development Impact West Africa (DIWA) complement the CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship, and non-resident fellows will benefit from engaging with EASST and DIWA in-person colleagues during the 12 weeks and beyond. The CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship can be used as a bridge between the EASST and DIWA in-person fellowships or as a stand-alone program.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants of the CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship must:

  • Be a national of East or West Africa (includes Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte D’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Somalia);
  • Have completed a Master’s degree within the last 10 years in economics, statistics, epidemiology/public health, or another social science discipline; or be pursuing a Ph.D.; or have completed Ph.D. in last 10 years;
  • Have a current affiliation with a research institution, university, or other research organization in Africa, preferably one that supports policy-relevant, quantitative social science research.
  • Fellows will receive a stipend to support their internet data costs and their time spent on the fellowship.

Also read: Canadian Government Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship 2021/2022

Application Procedure

Interested candidates who wish to apply can click the button below:

NOTE: carefully review the full-length RFA before preparing your submission package. Submit your application by 5:00 PM GMT on June 21, 2021 at 5:00 PM GMT.

For more information visit the official website of CEGA Non-Resident Fellowship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like