Russell E. Train Fellowship 2023: Food is Local (up to $30,000)

Deadline: February 1, 2023

Applications are open for the Russell E. Train Fellowship 2023: Food is Local. The aim of the fellowship is to support individuals to develop evidence-based, innovative, and interdisciplinary research on food system transformation at the national level to build a better understanding of the country specific actions that need to be taken to transform food systems to improve human health and foster environmental sustainability.

This research will catalyze the process of generating an improved understanding of the country-specific nature of food system transformation with a focus on the strategies that will support national and global efforts to create a more sustainable food future.

Focus Areas

To develop evidence-based, innovative, and interdisciplinary research on food system transformation at the national level, the types of proposals that World Wildlife Fund (WWF) is open to may cover the following themes, but examples are not limited to this list:

  • Sustainable food systems and natural resource management
  • Gender dimensions, equity, and inclusion in food systems
  • Human dimensions in food systems; Equitable social and economic benefits to stakeholders
  • Traditional and indigenous knowledge and culture in food systems
  • Climate-resilient food systems
  • Food systems in achieving Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), National Adaptation Plans (NAPs) and global biodiversity goals
  • Food safety and security, and nutrition security
  • Diversification of sustainable food systems
  • Fiscal policy and incentive-based management
  • Role of technology, capacity development, innovation, and data in transforming food systems
  • Community-based transformational leadership linked to sustainable food systems
  • Agroecological practices as nature-positive production (scaling-up agroecological production)
  • Access to markets: Incentives, regulations, and sustainable markets


  • Applicants may apply for up to two years of funding and request up to $30,000 per year.


  • You must be a citizen and legal permanent resident of an eligible country.
  • You must have at least two years of conservation-related work or research experience.
  • You must have a demonstrated commitment to working in conservation in an eligible country.
  • You must be enrolled in, admitted to, or have applied to a master’s or PhD programme anywhere in the world.
  • You must plan to begin your studies no later than January 2024.
  • You must contact EFN if you are a WWF employee, consultant, or previous EFN grant recipient to determine eligibility.
  • Eligible countries within the WWF-US priority areas: Belize, Brazil, Bhutan, Bolivia, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Dem. Republic of Congo, Ecuador, French Guiana, Gabon, Guyana, Honduras, Indonesia, Kenya, Laos, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Paraguay; Peru, Republic of Congo, Suriname, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam.


Applicants may apply in English, Spanish, French, or Portuguese.

Click here to apply

For more information, visit Russell E. Train Fellowships.

By Bello

Ismail Bello is a content creator and enthusiast who is passionate about youth development.